Back to All Events

Dvorak's New World Symphony

  • Arborlawn United Methodist Church 5001 Briarhaven Road Fort Worth, TX, 76109 United States (map)

The Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World", popularly known as the New World Symphony, was composed by Antonín Dvořák in 1893. It was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic, and premiered on December 16, 1893, at Carnegie Hall conducted by Anton Seidl. It's by far Dvorak's most popular symphony, and one of the most popular of all symphonies. 
Dvořák was interested in Native American music and the African-American spirituals he heard in America. This, along with America's "wide open spaces" influenced this symphony. 

Come hear the symphony that Neil Armstrong took with him on the first Moon landing in 1969.

Also featured in this evening's program is Principal Flutist Jake Fridkis on Arthur Foote's "A Night Piece", and Principal Horn Molly Norcross will perform Concerto No. 1 by Richard Strauss.

Donations are gratefully accepted and will go to the Musicians of the FWSO Fund.

Earlier Event: October 30
Halloween Concert
Later Event: November 27
A Fort Worth Family Christmas Concert